About the New York Section
Membership Info

Section Officers & Committee Chairs

2019 Committee Officer and Member Roster

2019 Officers

Dr. Justyna Widera
Adelphi University
Department of Chemistry
1 South Avenue
Garden City, NY, 11530

Dr. Joseph M. Serafin
St. John's University
Department of Chemistry
8000 Utopia Avenue
Queens, NY, 11439
Phone: 718-990-5226

Dr. Ruben Savizky
Cooper Union
Department of Chemistry
30 Cooper Square
New York, NY, 10003
Phone: 212-353-4372

Mr. Frank Romano
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Dr. Daniel Amarante
College of Mount Saint Vincent
Division of Natural Sciences
6301 Riverdale Avenue
Riverdale, NY, 10471

Interested in becoming a member of the ACS?
Click here.

American Chemical Society
New York Section, Inc.
Department of Chemistry
St. John's University
8000 Utopia Parkway
Jamaica, NY 11439
Phone 516-883-7510
Fax 516-883-4003

Office Administrator

The 2017 William H. Nichols Medal was awarded to Professor Chad A. Mirkin :

“For pioneering practical applications of nanochemistry”

Professor Chad A. Mirkin
The William H. Nichols Medal Award for 2017 was presented to Dr. Chad A. Mirkin of Northwestern University on March 24th, at an award dinner at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, White Plains, NY. Dr. Mirkin received the Nichols gold Medal for his “Pioneering practical applications of nanochemistry.” Over three hundred industrial chemists, students and faculty from New York Local Section colleges and universities were in attendance at the gala event.

The William H. Nichols Distinguished Symposium, that preceded the award dinner, was titled “Improving Life through Advances in Chemistry and Nanoscience”. The 305 attendees enjoyed research talks by these internationally known speakers: 2003 Nichols Medalist Dr. Harry B. Gray (California Institute of Technology); Dr. Timothy M. Swager (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Dr. Nathan C. Gianneschi (University of California - San Diego), Dr. Christopher J. Chang (University of California - Berkeley), and Dr. Mirkin who gave the Award Lecture titled “Unlocking the Potential of Spherical Nucleic Acids in Biology and Medicine.” Dr. Joseph M. Serafin, Chair-elect of the New York Section, expertly emceed the symposium, introducing each speaker. The Nichols Distinguished Symposium and the social hour that followed were enjoyed by all.

Dr. Brian R. Gibney, 2017 Chair of the ACS New York Section, welcomed the award dinner guests and recounted the story of William H. Nichols and the history of the Nichols Medal. American Chemical Society President Dr. Allison A. Campbell brought greetings and congratulations from the 153,000 members of the ACS. Dr. Harry B. Gray delighted the room with a touching memorial to the late Dr. Fred Basolo, his PhD advisor at Northwestern University, and with a spirited introduction of Dr. Chad A. Mirkin who carries on Dr. Basolo’s commitment to excellence at Northwestern University. Dr. Gray noted that the Nichols Medal has been presented to himself, his PhD student Dr. Richard Eisenberg in 2013, and now his PhD student’s PhD student Dr. Chard A. Mirkin in 2017, a unique accomplishment in the storied history of the Nichols Medal. Chair Gibney then awarded the gold medal, identical bronze medal and $5000 to Dr. MIrkin. The Medalist and speakers then happily met with students and posed for photos with them.

Members of the Nichols family also enjoyed this special event. The New York Section was honored to have as guests: Mr. C. Walter Nichols III (great grandson of William Nichols), Mrs. Sandra Nash (great, great granddaughter) and Whitney Nash (great, great, great granddaughter). It is exciting and truly a great pleasure to have three generations of the Nichols family present at the presentation of the Nichols Medal to the third generation of an academic lineage.

The Nichols Medal Award was established in 1902 by Dr. William H. Nichols to honor a chemical scientist for outstanding original research and was first awarded in 1903. Dr. Nichols, a charter member of the American Chemical Society and its president in 1918 and 1919, maintained a deep commitment to research and development and to the importance of supporting science education and students of chemistry. Since its inception, through an endowment fund, the New York Section administers the award. It has been perpetuated by the generosity of Dr. Nichols, his family and the Nichols Foundation, Inc. The William H. Nichols Medal is the first award in chemistry of the American Chemical Society.


1.  Speakers at the Nichols Distinguished Symposium with NY Section Executive Officers. Left to Right: Dr. Joseph M. Serafin (2017 NY Section Chair-elect), Dr. Brian R. Gibney (2017 NY Section Chair), Dr. Chad A. Mirkin (2017 Nichols Medalist), Dr. Harry B. Gray, Dr. Nathan C. Gianneschi Dr. Christopher J. Chang, and Dr. Timothy M. Swager


2.  Over 300 attendees enjoyed an excellent Nichols symposium Chaired by NY ACS Chair-elect Joseph M. Serafin.


3.  The attendees found Prof. Harry B. Gray's lecture on metal-oxo's informative and particulary amusing.


4.  Symposium and Banquet Participants enjoyed getting together at a wonderful reception before the Medal Award Dinner.
Seated are: 2016 NY ACS Chair Alison Hyslop, Ms. Whitney Nash, Mrs. Sandra Nichols Nash, 2014 ACS Chair Pamela Kerrigan. Standing are: 2017 NY ACS Chair Brian Gibney, Dr. Nathan C. Gianneschi, Dr. Timothy M. Swager, 2017 Nichols Medalist Chad A. Mirkin, Mr. C. Walter Nichols IV, Dr. Harry B. Gray, Dr. Christopher J. Chang, 2017 NY ACS Chair-elect Joseph M. Serafin, and 2015 NY ACS Chair Paris Svoronos.


5.  The Nichols Family with the Medalist. From left: Ms. Whitney Nash, Mrs. Sandra Nichols Nash, Mr. C. Walter Nichols IV and Dr. Chad A. Mirkin.

ACS President

6.  American Chemical Society President Allison Campbell brought welcomes to the dinner guests on behalf of the Society.


7.  Professor Harry B. Gray introduces the medalist as NY ACS Chair Brian R. Gibney looks on.


8.  Dr. Brian R. Gibney presented the 2017 Nichols Award Medal to Dr. Chad A. Mirkin of Northwestern University.


9.  Forty New York Section colleges and universities sent students to experience the William H. Nichols Symposium and Medal Award Dinner. Pictured here are students and faculty from the College of Mount Saint Vincent.


10.  Scientists from Pfizer Bioprocess & Oncology R&D enjoying the gala dinner.


11.  New York Local Section Chair-elect Joseph M. Serafin takes a well deserved moment to relax over dinner after emceeing the afternoon symposium.

Nichols Fellow

12.  George Maio of Lehman College - CUNY, pictured with NY ACS Chair Brian Gibney, along with Genesis Renderos of St. Peter's University, were honored guests of the New York Section. They were awarded the Nichols Fellows Research award for 2016. Their summer research was supported by the Nichols Foundation, Inc. They will present their work at the Undergraduate Research Symposium in May 2017.

Topical Groups & Committees:
  Chem Mktg/Econ
  Chemists Celebrate Earth Week
  History of the NY Section
         Science History Institute
  National Chemistry Week
  Student Activities
  H. S. Teachers
  US National Chemistry Olympiad
  Younger Chemists

  Long Island
         Env Chem
         HS Awards
  Staten Island

New York Section
   Job Manual
   Annual Reports (PDF)
      2017 Summary (3.1 MB)
          (w/attachments, 175 MB)
      2016 Summary (4.7 MB)
      2015 Summary (6.8 MB)
      2014 Summary (3.3 MB)
      2013 Summary (3.5 MB)
      2012 Summary (31.1 MB)
      2011 Summary (59.5 MB)
      2010 Summary (14.4 MB)
      2009 (HTML)
      2008 (HTML)
      2007 (HTML)
    Event Reporting Form (MS.docx)
    Expense Form (MS.docx)
    Expense Form (PDF)

National ACS
   ACS Network
   Webinars en Españoll

Support Your Local Section