

ANNOUNCING THE 2021 BAEKELAND AWARD

2021 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award goes to **Prof. Prashant K. Jain**

from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for his contribution to the field of materials science. Dr. Jain's research has made impressive contributions to our understanding, on an atomic scale, of lightmatter interactions, chemical transformation in nature and technology, and the inner workings of metal catalysts and photocatalysts.





Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award presented biannually by the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society. The first award was made in May 1945. Its purpose is to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrick Baekeland and to encourage chemists to emulate his younger example. The Award is given in recognition of accomplishment in pure or industrial chemistry, as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual and indicated by published or unpublished evidence.

The 2021 Baekeland Award Symposium will be held early next year. Updates and details to be published in The Indicator.