

Debra Rolison heads the Advanced Electrochemical Materials section (also known as the U.S. Navy's nanoarchitectural firm) at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC. Her team synthesizes, characterizes, applies designs, and threedimensionally multifunctional structured, ultraporous, nanoarchitectures for such rate-critical applications as catalysis, energy storage and conversion, and sensors. Along with Bruce Dunn (UCLA), Jeffrey Long (NRL), and Henry White (University of Utah), she established a new sub-discipline in electrochemical science: three-dimensional (3D) electrochemical energy storage in which battery function is volumetrically integrated within the cell rather than layered in 2D.

Rolison was a Faculty Scholar at Florida Atlantic University (1972– 1975), where she worked with Frank Schultz on nonaqueous ion-selective electrodes and the electrochemistry of μ -sulfido molybdenum complexes before receiving her B. S. in Chemistry in 1975. She also spent a summer in 1974 as an undergraduate research intern in William Dolbier's group at the University of Florida. She then entered the graduate chemistry program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she joined the group of Royce Murray just as chemically modified electrodes were being invented. She received her Ph. D. in Chemistry from UNC in 1980 after demonstrating the Pt-like character of RuO₂ electrodes in nonaqueous electrolytes, helping to establish polymer-modified electrodes, and ensuring frequent pick-up games of killer volleyball; she then immediately joined the NRL as a staff scientist until founding the Advanced Electrochemical Materials section in 1999.

Rolison is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association for Women in Science, the Materials Research Society, and the American Chemical Society. Among her major awards, she received the William H. Nichols Medal (2018), the Department of the Navy Dr. Dolores M. Etter Top Scientist & Engineer Team Award (2016), the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Electrochemistry (2014), the Charles N. Reilley Award of the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (2012), the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials (2011), and the Hillebrand Prize of the Chemical Society of Washington (2011).

Her editorial advisory board service includes Chemical Reviews, Analytical Chemistry, Langmuir, Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, Advanced Energy Materials, and the inaugural boards of Nano Letters, the Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, and Annual Review in Analytical Chemistry. Rolison also writes and lectures widely on issues affecting women (and men!) in science, including proposing Title IX assessments of science and engineering departments. She is the author of over 225 articles and holds 35 patents.