About the New York Section
Membership Info

Section Officers & Committee Chairs

2019 Committee Officer and Member Roster

2019 Officers

Dr. Justyna Widera
Adelphi University
Department of Chemistry
1 South Avenue
Garden City, NY, 11530

Dr. Joseph M. Serafin
St. John's University
Department of Chemistry
8000 Utopia Avenue
Queens, NY, 11439
Phone: 718-990-5226

Dr. Ruben Savizky
Cooper Union
Department of Chemistry
30 Cooper Square
New York, NY, 10003
Phone: 212-353-4372

Mr. Frank Romano
Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Dr. Daniel Amarante
Stony Brook University
Department of Chemistry
100 Nicolls Road
Stony Brook, NY, 11794

Interested in becoming a member of the ACS?
Click here.

American Chemical Society
New York Section, Inc.
Department of Chemistry
St. John's University
8000 Utopia Parkway
Jamaica, NY 11439
Phone 516-883-7510
Fax 516-883-4003

Office Administrator

The 2018 William H. Nichols Medal was awarded to Dr. Debra R. Rolison :

“For pioneering energy relevant 3-D nanoarchitectures”

Dr. Debra R. Rolison
The William H. Nichols Medal Award for 2018 was presented to Dr. Debra R. Rolison of U.S. Naval Research Laboratory on April 13th, at an award dinner at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, White Plains, NY. Dr. Rolison received the Nichols gold Medal “For Pioneering Energy Relevant 3D Nanoarchitectures.” Over two hundred industrial chemists, students and faculty from New York Local Section colleges and universities were in attendance at the gala event.

The William H. Nichols Distinguished Symposium, that preceded the award dinner, was titled “The Future of Energy Science … Without Chemists? Unachievable.” The 208 attendees enjoyed research talks by these internationally known speakers: Dr. Stephanie L. Brock (Wayne State University); Dr. Jillian L. Dempsey (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill), Dr. Héctor Abruña (Cornell University), and Dr. Rolison who gave the Award Lecture titled “Architectural Design, 1D Walls, 3D Plumbing, and Painting Blind en Route to Multifunctional Nanoarchitectures for Energy Storage.” Dr. Justyna Widera-Kalinowska, Chair-elect of the New York Section, expertly emceed the symposium, introducing each speaker. The Nichols Distinguished Symposium and the following social hour were enjoyed by all.

Dr. Joseph M. Serafin, 2018 Chair of the ACS New York Section, welcomed the award dinner guests and recounted the story of William H. Nichols and the history of the Nichols Medal. American Chemical Society President Dr. Peter K. Dorhout and Dr. Laura Pence (District I Director of ACS) brought greetings and congratulations from the 153,000 members of the ACS. Dr. Henry S. White delighted the room with a touching and spirited introduction of Dr. Debra R. Rolison. It is worth to notice that Dr. Rolison is a third woman that received the Nichols medal in the Nichols Award history. Chair Serafin then awarded the gold medal, identical bronze medal and an honorarium to Dr. Rolison. The Medalist and speakers then happily met with students and posed for photos with them.

Members of the Nichols family also enjoyed this special event. The New York Section was honored to have as guests: Mr. C. Walter Nichols III (great grandson of William H. Nichols), his wife Helga Nichols, and Mrs. Sandra Nash (great, great granddaughter). It is exciting and truly a great pleasure to have the Nichols family members present at the presentation of the Nichols Medal as continuation of the Dr. William H. Nichols legacy.

The Nichols Medal Award was established in 1902 by Dr. William H. Nichols to honor a chemical scientist for outstanding original research and was first awarded in 1903. Dr. Nichols, a charter member of the American Chemical Society and its president in 1918 and 1919, maintained a deep commitment to research and development and to the importance of supporting science education and students of chemistry. Since its inception, through an endowment fund, the New York Section administers the award. It has been perpetuated by the generosity of Dr. Nichols, his family and the Nichols Foundation, Inc. The William H. Nichols Medal is the first award in chemistry of the American Chemical Society.


1.  NY ACS Chair Dr. Joseph Serafin welcomes attendees to the Distinguished Symposium

NYACS Chair-Elect

2.  NY ACS Chair-elect Dr. Justyna Widera-Kalinowska hosting the Distinguished Symposium


3.  Dr. Debra Rolison presenting the Medalist's seminar


4.  Over 200 Symposium attendees listening to an excellent talk by Dr. Abruña.


5.  Symposium Speakers posing for a group photo following the symposium - NY ACS Chair Dr. Serafin, Medalist Dr. Debra Rolison, Dr. Hénry Abruña, Dr. Stephanie Brock, Dr. Jillian Dempsey and NY ACS Chair-elect Dr. Widera-Kalinowska


6.  Dr. Debra Rolison accepting the Nichols Medal from NY ACS Chair Dr. Joseph Serafin.


7.  200 Dinner guests, including many undergraduate students, listening to an enjoyable introduction of Medalist Dr. Rolison by her colleague and friend, Dr. Henry White.

Medalist Meeting Student

8.  After the dinner, Medalist Rolison met with college students.

ACS President

9.  Dr. Rolison with ACS President Dr. Peter Dorhout and ACS District One Director Dr. Laura Pence, both of whom brought greetings from National ACS.

Nichols Family

10.  Members of the Nichols family truly enjoy the festivities. Mrs. Sandy Nichols Nash and C. Walter Nichols III standing on either side of the Medalist.

Medalist, ACS Officers, Speakers

11.  Medalist Dr. Debra Rolison with ACS Officers and Nichols Speakers


12. Queensborough Community College -CUNY faculty and students with ACS President Dr. Peter Dorhout.

C. Walter Nichols

13.  Mr. C. Walter Nichols III enjoying a conversation with the ACS President. Drs. Anne O'Brien, Padmanabhan and Serafin look on

Sandy Nash

14.  Mrs. Sandy Nichols Nash, Dr. Neil Jespersen, Mrs. Marilyn Jespersen and Dr. Peter Dorhout


15. Former Chairs of the New York Section attending the Nichols Meeting. Seated: Dr. Donald Clarke and Dr. Barbara Hillery. Standing: Dr. Philip Mark, Dr. Hiroko Karan, Mr. Frank Romano and Dr. Alison Hyslop.

Helga Nichols

16.  Nichols family with NY ACS Chair Serafin. – Mrs. Helga Nichols, Mr. C. Walter Nichols III and Mrs. Sandy Nash Nichols.

Nichols Fellow

17.  NY ACS Chair Serafin welcoming Nichols Research Fellow Salah Eldein Elkattawy and his mentor Dr. Joel Belasco of NYU to the Nichols Symposium

Topical Groups & Committees:
  Chem Mktg/Econ
  Chemists Celebrate Earth Week
  History of the NY Section
         Science History Institute
  National Chemistry Week
  Student Activities
  H. S. Teachers
  US National Chemistry Olympiad
  Younger Chemists

  Long Island
         Env Chem
         HS Awards
  Staten Island

New York Section
   Job Manual
   Annual Reports (PDF)
      2017 Summary (3.1 MB)
          (w/attachments, 175 MB)
      2016 Summary (4.7 MB)
      2015 Summary (6.8 MB)
      2014 Summary (3.3 MB)
      2013 Summary (3.5 MB)
      2012 Summary (31.1 MB)
      2011 Summary (59.5 MB)
      2010 Summary (14.4 MB)
      2009 (HTML)
      2008 (HTML)
      2007 (HTML)
    Event Reporting Form (MS.docx)
    Expense Form (MS.docx)
    Expense Form (PDF)

National ACS
   ACS Network
   Webinars en Españoll

Support Your Local Section